Picture1

A BRIEF HISTORY OF COLUMBIA

Founded in 1922, Columbia is El Monte City School District\'s oldest school. Serving a long-established neighborhood in central El Monte, Columbia boasts a long list of successful alumni including legislators, members of congress, professional athletes and, of course, staff members.


More recently, EMCSD\'s last two superintendents, Mr. Jeff Seymour and Dr. Maribel GarcĂ­a, ascended to the central office from their position as principal of Columbia. In 2010, Columbia underwent a dramatic physical transformation that included the construction of a new building which houses 7th and 8th grade classrooms, a new library with two computer labs, a beautiful mezzanine for meetings, as well as an outdoor patio. Further, a new gym was erected that acts as a gathering place for the entire community for weekend sporting events, college fairs, and student competitions.

Events Calendar

Monday February 19 - All Day
Holiday-Schools & District Office Closed
Tuesday February 20, 8:15 AM - 10:15 AM
NAC - Parent meeting Neighborhood Action Council (Lideres de un Futuro Mejor)
Wednesday February 21, 8:30 AM - 10:00 AM
ELAC
Thursday February 22 - All Day
K-8 CONSOLIDATED DAY SCHEDULE
Saturday February 24 - All Day
Saturday School
Tuesday February 27, 8:15 AM - 10:15 AM
NAC - Parent meeting Neighborhood Action Council (Lideres de un Futuro Mejor)
Thursday March 1 - All Day
K-8 CONSOLIDATED DAY SCHEDULE
Friday March 2 - All Day
TEACHER IN-SERVICE STUDENT FREE DAY
Tuesday March 6, 8:15 AM - 10:15 AM
NAC - Parent meeting Neighborhood Action Council (Lideres de un Futuro Mejor)
Thursday March 8 - All Day
K-8 CONSOLIDATED DAY SCHEDULE